Beetroot and Toasted Walnut Hummus

Here’s a cool new one by Garden59 that takes your traditional hummus and spruces it up with beets and toasted walnuts. Hummus is a wonderful dish mostly made out of chickpeas with garlic, olive oil, lemon, and tahini added to it. The beets add a slightly sweeter flavor and we can’t get enough of that gorgeous color. Serve it with fresh veggie sticks, dark corn tortillas for contrast, and some homemade kale chips or try a dollop of it on top of you next salad or big bowl of quinoa. Give it a try and let us know what you think.

I use a recipe from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s book River Cottage Veg Everyday. First, I boil the beetroot skin and all (it’s easier to peel once it’s cooked) until it’s tender. Then I remove the skin and cut it into cubes.

Cooked beetroot being sliced

Meanwhile I toast the walnuts on a baking tray in the oven until they start to smell, well, all lovely and toasty. This normally takes around five minutes at 170C in our fan oven. However much beetroot I’ve got, I use about a quarter of the weight in walnuts.

Toasted walnuts on a baking tray

While they’re cooling I dry–fry a cumin seeds, using one tablespoonful per large beetroot. Within a minute the seeds should turn darker in colour and smell amazing. That means it’s time to take them off the heat and grind them.

Dry-frying cumin seeds

At this point I find a small handful of stale bread, remove the crusts and tear it into chunks. This goes into the food processor along with the toasted nuts and I blitz it into crumbs.

Then I add the beetroot and for each large beetroot also add a tablespoon of tahini, a clove of garlic, the cumin, half a tablespoon of lemon juice and half a tablespoon of olive oil. All this gets blitzed together into a spectacular pink hummus.

p1130188

Hugh’s recipe suggests you can use peanut butter instead of tahini but I prefer the tahini. You can also play around with the quantities of cumin, garlic, lemon juice and oil until you get it to just the right flavour and consistency for you. But I find you can’t really go wrong with beetroot and walnut hummus, especially with some fresh garden veg to dip into it.

Peppers, courgettes and green beans cut into strips

via Beetroot and walnut hummus — Garden59

6 thoughts on “Beetroot and Toasted Walnut Hummus

  1. charandtheweb says:

    I’m a sucker for beetroot so this immediately caught my eye. I don’t think anyone can say no to a delicious hummus. Your pictures are just amazing by the way, fantastic blog.

    Would you be interested in health and lifestyle tips on Creators? I’m therefore looking for people with an interest in writing, who are looking to increase their readership and would like their voice to be heard. Let me know if you’d be up for that. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail for more information, you can find my contact details on my blog. Would love to hear from you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

