Brandied Mushroom Paté

Mushrooms are a miracle food. This recipe calls for porcini and portobello, but feel free to experiment with different variations. If you live near a big city with a large Asian population, you can find an incredible selection of exotic mushrooms at the local Asian market. You’ll see things you’ve never even heard of that taste amazing and have certain anti-aging or anti-cancer properties that modern medicine is just beginning to become aware of.

I’m a huge fan of great recipes that help you be just a little bit healthier without sacrificing flavor and joy, so this one completely hits the mark.

Give it a try and let us know what you think.

If you’re strictly vegan let us how you altered the recipe. Did you try soaked walnuts or cashews instead of the goat cheese? How did that taste? We’d love to hear. 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbs dried porcini mushrooms
  • 4 Tbs unsalted butter (or olive oil)
  • 1 medium red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 4 large Portobello mushrooms, sliced
  • ¾ cup brandy (optional)
  • 2 tsp fresh thyme leaves
  • ¼ cup fresh parsley, chopped
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup goat cheese (or vegan cream cheese)

Method

Put the dried mushrooms in a bowl with 2 tablespoons boiling water. Let them soak until they soften and then chop finely.

In a large pan, melt the butter or warm up the olive oil. Butter makes the pate richer so it’s up to you if you’d like to add it. Add the onion and garlic with a dash of salt and stir occasionally until onion is soft. Add the mushrooms and cook for a few minutes until the portabellas begin to brown. Add the brandy, thyme leaves, salt and pepper. Leave it to saute until the brandy is almost evaporated and not many juices remain in the skillet.

Let it cool for a few minutes and then put the mixture in a blender or food processor. Add the parsley and pulse until everything is well ground. Add the cheese and pulse again. Taste for salt and pepper and adjust if necessary.

Transfer mixture into small serving dishes and garnish with extra thyme leaves and freshly ground black pepper. Store it in the fridge covered with plastic wrap. Bring to room temperature before serving, although straight out of the fridge is also delicious.

pexels-photo-306798

 

16 thoughts on “Brandied Mushroom Paté

  1. updownflight says:

    This looks so delicious that I printed out the recipe. I love mushrooms and have a HUGE container of dried wild mushrooms of various sorts that I can use for the dried.

    I like that this was posted in grams.

    The presentations of all of the recipes on your blog are beautiful. Very very tempting.

    Like

    • omprojectblog says:

      Not really right now. I’m interested in “mostly meatless” or “healthier” cooking that brings more joy to eating fruits and veggies. I considered being strictly vegan with these posts, but I’m more interested in helping people be better off rather than perfect (if vegan is perfect). So, for example, Brandy is not a health food but mushrooms are. Some people eat cheese, while some don’t and I don’t feel like not posting up a recipe if it excites me even if it might not speak to a certain segment. It is very important to get a basic understanding of complete nutrition and be balanced with proteins and B vitamins etc. but I don’t have one specific diet in mind right now. Today I’m on the “Eat More Plants Diet” or “Eat More Real Food Diet” I guess. That might change in the future. If you have any restrictions feel free to let me know if there is a good way to post up the alternative or if you would advocate for something I’m open to hearing it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jen says:

        I think it’s powerful to have a flexible approach because if more people eat plant foods, that would be a huge improvement in health.

        Like

  2. updownflight says:

    I just had to follow up and tell you that I made this recipe today, and my husband and I were almost orgasmic over it. Oh my goodness!

    My husband is allergic to garlic, so I omitted that, but it was not missed. I used European dried mushrooms and fresh baby bellas. I also used a fine cognac instead of the brandy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

